Mission       Background       Networks       Our team

Helping the poor for 60 years

Founded in 1955, the organization’s structure expresses a dedication to help the poor that has always been at the very heart of the action of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, a catholic congregation founded in 1816 in Aix-en-Provence, and established in Canada since 1841.

 
In the mid-20th century, during and after World War II, a good number of Oblate priests and brothers went off to distant countries, as well as to First Nations’ territories. In order to finance and gather supplies for the community’s various missions, dedicated Oblates in Montreal acted as procurators, asking financial and material donations to support the many social and religious activities in the field. In 1955, along with the help of lay brothers from the community, the Oblates built a mission center in Montreal, where they centralized efforts to foster teamwork and to share resources.
 
In the early 1970s, the community decided to reorganize the mission centre in order to better target its assistance to the needs of a world in turmoil. Therefore, a new organisation, the CMO, was established to integrate within a single team all hospitality, animation, preaching and fundraising events for various mission countries. Needless to say this decision was far sighted, as the CMO has remained a competent and trustworthy intermediary, discerningly distributing its donors’ and partners’ funds to needy populations in more than forty countries.

Mission       Historique       Réseaux       Équipe

60 ans au service des plus démunis
 

Fondé en 1955, le Centre Missionnaire Oblat a pour vocation l'aide aux démunis, ce qui constitue l’essence même de l’action des Oblats de Marie Immaculée, une congrégation catholique fondée à Aix-en-Provence en 1816 et établie au Canada depuis 1848.

 
Au milieu du 20e siècle, pendant et après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les missions oblates se multipliaient, dans des pays lointains mais également en territoires autochtones. Afin de financer et d’approvisionner les œuvres de la communauté, des Oblats dévoués agissaient comme procureurs, récoltant des dons d’argent et de matériel pour soutenir leurs différentes missions. En 1955, ces derniers construisirent à Montréal, avec l’aide des ouvriers membres de la communauté, une procure où ils se regroupèrent afin de favoriser le travail d’équipe et le partage de certaines ressources.
 
Au début des années 1970, la communauté décida de transformer complètement ce centre de procureurs dans le but d’offrir une aide mieux adaptée aux besoins d’un monde en plein bouleversement. Une nouvelle organisation, le Centre Missionnaire Oblat (CMO), voyait donc le jour, regroupant au sein d’une seule équipe toutes les activités d’accueil, d’animation, de prédication et de cueillette de fonds. Une décision bien inspirée puisque le CMO est demeuré, depuis ce temps, un intermédiaire compétent et intègre qui distribue intelligemment les fonds confiés par ses donateurs et partenaires à des populations situées dans une quarantaine de pays.